Professor R. C. Gupta receives Kenneth O. May Prize

Professor Radha Charan Gupta received the Kenneth O. May Prize for the History of Mathematics at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) on 27 August  2010. Prof. Gupta was chosen for the 2009 prize jointly with Prof. Ivor Grattan-Guinness of UK by the International Commission for the History of Mathematics. Prof. Kim Plofker presented the award.

The Prize is named after the mathematician and historian Kenneth O. May, founder of the International Commission for the History of Mathematics and its journal Historia Mathematica. The prize, instituted in 1989, consists of a bronze medal and is given once in four years in appreciation of a mathematician’s scholarly work in the history of mathematics.

Prof. Gupta’s major contributions in the field include work on the history of development of trigonometry in India. He authored the chapter ‘Historiography of Mathematics in India’ in: Dauben and Scriba (eds.) Writing the History of Mathematics: Its Historical Development, Birkhauser, 2002. He was the President of the Association of Mathematics Teachers of India from 1994 until recently. He also founded the journal Ganita Bharati (meaning “Indian Mathematics”) and has written several articles in the journal. He is also a frequent contributor to the HPM Newsletter (including this issue).


  1. 1 More on the Kenneth O. May prize « HPM Newsletter

    […] the last issue, we mentioned that Professor R. C. Gupta received Kenneth O. May Prize at the ICM in August 2010. His co-recipient, Ivor Grattan-Guinness, received his price at the 23rd […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: